Site Search

Student news and events

UWindsor Model UN participates in G20 conference 
The University of Windsor Model United Nations (WinMUN) team just got back from their first conference of the year - the annual University of Waterloo Model G20 conference. The four-day conference included lively and pressing committees, in which WinMUN delegates represented various countries on the Global Summit on Space Exploration, the Committee on the Environment and Indigenous Affairs, and the International Forum on Food and Water Security. Jess Paglia represented Germany on the Global Summit on Space Exploration and received the Best Delegate award in her committee, while Norma Roumie represented India on the International Forum on Food and Water Security and received an Honorable Mention award for her work on this committee. Check the WinMUN page for more info on the group and its own conferences at the University of Windsor.
"Reading Liberty" student reading group launched

Reading Liberty Group Lydia Miljan
Dr. Lydia Miljan has launched a new student reading group, supported by funding from the Lotte and John Hecht Memorial Foundation and the Institute for Liberal Studies. The Reading Liberty Group meets every other Friday through the fall semester, beginning October 7, from 12:00 to 2:00 pm in Chrysler Hall North 1137. Interested students can contact Dr. Miljan at, or visit for more information on how to participate.
Political Science Help Centre returns for Fall 2016
The Department of Political Science is pleased to annoucne that the Help Centre is back for the Fall 2016 semester, staffed by graduate students from the department's MA program. The Help Centre's hours for this semester are listed below. Further hours will be added soon with the addition of fourth-year students as TAs, so watch this space and the Help Centre home page for details on expanded drop-in times.
  • Mondays, 1:00 - 4:00 pm
  • Tuesdays, 1:00 - 4:00 pm
  • Wednesdays, 12:00 - 3:00 pm
  • Thursdays, 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Help Centre is designed to provide students taking Political Science and International Relations courses with an additional source of academic support, and with assistance on issues relating to academic research, effective exam preparation, note-taking, writing skills, avoiding common mistakes, and organizing study groups. The Help Centre is located in Chrysler Hall North 1146, down the hall from the Cashier's Office in CHN.
Mitacs student assisting Dr. Richez with research on aboriginal policy
Emily Hall Mitacs Political Science Emmanuelle Richez
The Department of Political Science is happy to welcome Emily Hall, a Mitacs research intern working under Dr. Emmanuelle Richez over the summer. Mitacs is a not-for-profit organisation which conducts national research and training programs, and each year sponsors undergraduate students from Australia, Brazil, China, France, India, Germany, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, and Tunisia at 45 universities across Canada for its Globalink Research Internship program.
Emily is a fourth year undergraduate at Macquarie University in Sydney, Australia. She studies a double degree of law and arts with a major in politics and international relations. She has a particular interest in race and gender politics, and hopes to practice media or corporate law after graduating next year.

Emily is working under Dr. Richez on her comparative study of the impact bills of rights have on Aboriginal Peoples in Canada, the United States, Australia and New Zealand. The study determines whether the rights of these groups are better protected by rights-based judicial review or responsible government.


Windsor Model UN headed to New York for global conference

Windsor Model United Nations Model UN

The University of Windsor Model United Nations Team has been specifically selected to attend the United Ambassadors' MUN4UN Youth Assembly at the United Nations Headquarters in New York. The first of its kind, selected Model United Nations from across the world will come together at the UN Headquarters to partake in writing the first ever Model UN Resolution to help improve MUN organizations globally, all while students take in the opportunity to become prominent youth leaders and discuss items on the UN Agenda.

Because of our steadfastness and capabilities as a team, our invitation to the United Nations comes as a great honour and we would like to send our delegates to participate in this rare opportunity.

This Go Fund Me page is meant to allow us to collect funds to offset costs for our delegates. As it stands, each of our delegates are to spend $1000 to attend this Youth Assembly, but we would greatly appreciate any contributions to lighten the financial burden. 

We will be collecting funds until the end of June as we need to register by the end of the month. 

Anything you can contribute will be greatly appreciated. We aim to make the University of Windsor proud and bring our educational experience into our next term as a Model United Nations Team in 2016-2017.


University highlights Political Science MA research on transit equity in Detroit

Political Science graduand Sarah Cipkar's research on attempts to achieve transit equity and greater public participation in transit planning in the Detroit metro region was recently featured in the University of Windsor Daily News. Sarah plans on bringing the results of her research to the Citizens Advisory Committee in Detroit soon, to better inform policy and continue her work on transit issues. Click here for more on Sarah's research, and read more about our grad programs and some of our other recent BA and MA graduates.