Site Search
Department of Physics Banner Image
Essex Hall


Greetings from the fun and fabulous Physics Department at the University of Windsor.  We are committed to our strategic priorities of Teaching Excellence, Research & Experiential Learning, and Community Engagement.  Our Department is uniquely known for the multiple genres of experiential learning opportunities we provide all our students.  Most students participate in research with our world-renowned faculty in the areas of Atomic, Molecular and Optical (AMO) Physics, Materials Science, and Biomedical Physics.  Explore these pages, and if you'd like to know more, request a tour of the Department by sending an email to


Summer Research Fellowships

The Department of Physics at the University of Windsor offers a Summer Research Fellowship for domestic students registering in thesis-based graduate programs in September. Fellowships are available on a competitive basis in AMO Physics, Materials Science and Biomedical Physics.  Click here for details and application form.

The Physics team showcased our research at the University of Windsor's 6th Annual Research Showcase at Devonshire Mall on April 25th, 2015.

(Photo Courtesy: snapd windsor)

(Photo Courtesy: Dr. Bill Miller)

Physics Ends Another Phantastic Year!

It was with a heavy heart, but hope for the future, that we bid farewell to the graduating class of 2015 at a Farewell End of Term Tea Party, on Friday, April 17th.  

Among the students celebrated were:

Outgoing Physics Club officers (from left) Eric Lessard, Wesley Frowley, Derek Gillies, and Melissa Mathers. 

Incoming Physics Club officers (from left): Jake Burling, Anthony Piazza, Wesley Frowley, and Vlora Riberdy.

Scholarship winners Brendan Rhino (OGS) Anthony Piazza (NSERC USRA), and Vlora Riberdy (NSERC USRA) shown with Professor Rangan.


And of course, we do not forget all of our graduates and both the undergraduate and gradaute level who were lauded on this day.

UWindsor Physicists Win National Medals

UWindsor physicists have won two of the six medals awarded by the Canadian Association of Physicists in 2015. 




The awards will be presented at the annual CAP Congress in Edmonton in June.   

Professor Mordechay Schlesinger (left) & Alumnus Dr. Robert Petro (right) were awarded a US Patent for developing a new process of depositing gold and gold alloys onto Silicon. Their work is expected to revolutionize the electronics and biomedical industries.

On March 4th, 2015 Professor Marshall McCall from the York University Department of Physics and Astronomy presented the Canadian Association of Physicists Student Lecture Tour 2015 entitled, "Structure in the Near Universe and its Relevance to Your Life."  

Shown above is Professor McCall advocating for the CAP and giving his audience its home address (note the "you are here" tag in the picture of the Milky Way in the upper right hand corner.) Approximately 40 people from the Physics Department and the campus community turned out to hear Professor McCall deliver his fascinating tour of the near universe.













Halloween Murder Mystery Night 



On October 30th, 2014, the undergraduate students of the Physics Club transformed our colloquium room into "The Juice Joint," a Chicago speakeasy, circa 1925.  Dressed in costume, about 30 members of the Department and friends participated in the first Halloween Murder Mystery.  Flappers, gangsters, crooked cops, crooked politicians, sleazy hollywood producers and intrepid reporters all rubbed shoulders and sleuthed to figure out who committed a heinous murder right in our midst.  

Thanks to the Physics Club and all its students for putting on a great night!

Congratulations to Physics Lab Coordinator Aldo Dicarlo on winning the Mayoral election in Amherstburg!  We are so proud of you and wish you Good Luck!

Medical Physics Represents UWindsor in National Magazine 

In the 2014 issue of the Maclean’s “Canadian Universities Guidebook,” the authors identified the Department's B.Sc. in Medical Physics as one of three “Standout Programs” at the University.  The Guidebook advises that the degree will “…leave graduates well-positioned to move into programs in radiology or medical imaging.”

You can read the full Guidebook excerpt here.

This conclusion can be quickly confirmed by taking a look at our recent undergraduate student co-op poster presentations, which show high-level research being conducted by our students in the areas of: transcranial ultrasonic imaging, ultrasound for chemotherapeutic dosage monitoring, developing phantoms for minimally invasive heart surgery, computerized validation of cancer treatment electron beams, analyzing phantoms for CT imaging, and the development of novel radiation dosimeters. 

For earlier News items, please see the Archive.