Site Search

Vita (abbreviated)

2004-date, Faculty member, Department of Physics, University of Windsor

  • Professor (2018-)
  • Head of Department (2012-2015)
  • Associate Professor (2009-2018)
  • Assistant Professor (2004-2009)
  • Cross-appointed to Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry (2008-2011)
  • Visiting Assistant/Associate Professor, Department of Physics, The University of Michigan (2006-)

2000-2004 Postdoc, FOCUS Center, The University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI. Mentor: Phil Bucksbaum.
1994-2000 Ph. D. (Physics), Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA. Advisors: Ravi Rau & Ken Schafer.
1991-1993 M. Sc. (Physics), Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. India. Advisors: M.V. Satyanarayana and B.M. Sivaram
1988-1991 B. Sc. (Physics), First Class, University of Madras, Madras. India. (Meenakshi College for Women)

Awards and Fellowships

  • 2015 CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Physics
  • UWindsor Award for Excellence in Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity (Emerging Scholars / Researchers Category) 2010
  • Dean's Special Recognition for organizing Science Rendezvous 2010 
  • Dean's Special Recognition Award in recognition of excellence in research scholarship and creative activity 2008
  • Dean's Special Recognition Award in recognition of excellence in research scholarship and creative activity 2007
  • Faculty Performance Award, Faculty of Science, University of Windsor 'in recognition of her outstanding overall performance in the areas of research, teaching and service' 2007
  • Certificate from the Dean of Science 'in recognition of her devotion to students in the Department of Physics and for her outstanding contribution to recruitment and to the advancement of the Department's programs', University of Windsor, 2006
  • Certificate in recognition of 'research, scholarship and creative activity', University of Windsor 2006
  • Research Fellowship, FOCUS, National Science Foundation Physics Frontiers Center, The University of Michigan. 2001-2003
  • Charles E. Coates Distinguished Dissertation Award, Louisiana State University. 2000
  • Merit Scholarship, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India. 1991-1993
  • University Medals for French and English, University of Madras, India. 1991
  • National Talent Search Scholarship, National Council for Educational Research and Training, New Delhi, India. 1986-1994


Canadian Association of Physicists

American Physical Society

Ontario Association of Physics Teachers

Association for Women in Science

Service and Professional Activities

Chair, Division of AMO Physics, Canadian Association of Physicists (204-2015)

Chair, CAP Committee for International Year of Light 2015

Guest Editor, Special Year of Light issue of Physics in Canada

University of Windsor Teaching Leadership Chair (2014-2017)

International Program Committee and Local Organizing Committee, PSAS 2008, International Conference on the Precision Spectroscopy of Simple Atomic Systems, University of Windsor, July 21-26, 2008.

Co-chair, Workshop on Building Computational Devices using Coherent Control, The University of Michigan, June 7-9, 2004.

Organizing Committee Member, Workshop on Perspectives in Decoherence Control and Quantum Computing, The University of Michigan, August 21-28, 2002.

Invited participant, NSF-DOE-NIH Workshop on Opportunities in Terahertz Science, Washington, DC, February 12-14, 2004.

Commission on Quantum Electronics C17, International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (Member 2005-2008, Secretary 2008-2011).

Regional Councilor (Southwestern Ontario), Council of Canadian Association of Physicists, (2006-2010).

Member, DAMOP Thesis Prize Selection Committee, American Physical Society (2011 - 2013).

Judge, Student Oral Presentation Competition, Canadian Association of Physicists' Congress, University of Toronto, June 2010

Reviewer, Physical Review Letters, Physical Review A, Journal of Modern Optics, Journal of Chemical Physics, Canadian Journal of Physics, NSERC, 2001 - present.

Reviewer for grants: NSERC Strategic grant, NSERC Discovery grants, NSF Single investigator grants, US Department of Energy grants, 2005 - present.