Site Search
Computer Science

Photos

Alioune Ngom, Ph.D.Dr. Alioune Ngom
Dr. Alioune Ngom
Jessica Chen, Ph.D.Dr. Jessica Chen
Dr. Jessica Chen
Dr. Scott GoodwinDr. Scott Goodwin
Dr. Scott Goodwin
Imran Ahmad, Ph.D.Dr. Imran Ahmad
Dr. Imran Ahmad
Windsor WaterfrontWindsor Waterfront Park
Windsor Waterfront Park
Dr. Ziad Kobti lecturingDr. Ziad Kobti
Dr. Ziad Kobti
Arunita Jaekel, Ph.D.Dr. Arunita Jaekel
Dr. Arunita Jaekel
Robin Gras, Ph.D.Dr. Robin Gras
Dr. Robin Gras
Dr. Robert KentDr. Robert Kent
Dr. Robert Kent
Lambton TowerLambton Tower
Lambton Tower
Xiaobu Yuan, Ph.D.Dr. Xiaobu Yuan
Dr. Xiaobu Yuan
Dr. Luis RuedaDr. Luis Rueda
Dr. Luis Rueda
Christie Ezeife, Ph.D.Dr. Christie Ezeife
Dr. Christie Ezeife

CS Faculty

The School of Computer Science at the University of Windsor offers graduate study in a friendly, culturally diverse environment, with 19 faculty members who are ready to provide you with the most advanced education for your future career.

Computer Science Faculty

Dr. Imran Ahmad
Image Retrieval, Multimedia Systems
imran@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Sherif Saad Ahmed
Cybersecurity, Applied Machine Learning in Cybersecurity, Internet of Things, Secure Software Design, Software Engineering
Sherif.SaadAhmed@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Boubakeur Boufama 
Computer Vision, image processing and Computer Graphics
boufama@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Jessica Chen
Formal Methods, Middleware; Web Engineering, Communication Protocol
xjchen@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Christie Ezeife
Distributed Object Based Systems, Data Warehousing Systems, Data Mining, Database Transaction Processing
cezeife@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Richard Frost (Professor Emeritus)
SpeechWebs, Executable Attribute Grammars, Functional Programming, Natural Language Processing
richard@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Scott Goodwin
Game AI; Search Algorithms, Constraint satisfaction and optimization; Scheduling, temporal representation and reasoning, logic programming
sgoodwin@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Robin Gras
Theoretical Ecology, Ecosystem Simulation, Machine learning, Bioinformatics, Biological Sequences Analysis, System Biology Data Analysis, Probabilistic Model Building Heuristics
rgras@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Arunita Jaekel
Optical Network Architecture, Faul-tolerant network design, Wireless sensor and mobile Networks
arunita@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Mehdi Kargar  (no longer accepting students)
Big Data, Databases, Data Mining, Information Retrieval, Machine Learning
mkargar@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Robert Kent
Distributed Processing
rkent@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Ziad Kobti
AI; Software Engineering; Multi-Agent Simulations; Evolutionary Algorithms; Complex Social Systems
kobti@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Jianguo Lu
Semantic Web, Web Service, Software Reengineering
jlu@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Asish Mukopadhyay
Geometric Optimization, applications of geometric algorithms, Geometric Compression, Surface Reconstruction, Applications in Computer Graphics
asishm@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Alioune Ngom
Parallel/Distributed Methods in Computational Molecular Biology, Machine Learning Approaches to Bioinformatics. Application of Discrete Neural Network and Evolutionary Computing, Resource Optimization in Wireless Mobile Networks
angom@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Luis Rueda
Efficient Linear Dimensionality Reduction and Optimal Multi-dimensional Clustering
lrueda@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Saeed Samet
Privacy-Preserving Data Mining, Machine Learning, Big Data privacy, e-Health Security and Privacy, Health Informatics, Cryptography, Secure Multi-party Computation
Saeed.Samet@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Peter Tsin
Design and Analysis of Algorithms, Distributed/Parallel Computation, Graph Algorithms
peter@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Dan Wu
Uncertainty reasoning; Database Systems, Design and Implementation of a Relational Probabilistic Inference Engine for large and complex domain
danwu@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Xiaobu Yuan (Acting Graduate Coordinator)
Software Engineering and Virtual Reality
xyuan@uwindsor.ca

 Research Areas for the PhD and MSc programs

Algorithms

  • Computational Geometry & Optimization
  • Distributed & Parallel Graph Algorithms
  • Self-stabilization Algorithms

Artificial Intelligence

  • Neural Networks, Optimization
  • Pattern Recognition and Machine Learning
  • Probabilistic Modeling Building
  • Gam AI, Computer Vision, Image Processing
  • Multi-Agent systems, Uncertain Reasoning
  • Natural Language Processing

Bioinformatics

  • Complex Biological Systems
  • Transcriptomics and Proteomics
  • Genomics and Interactomics

Health Informatics

Databases

  • Data Warehouses, Data Mining & Integration
  • Distributed Object-oriented Datasbases
  • Semantic Web
  • Intelligent Information Retrieval

Human/Computer Interactions

  • Virtual Reality, Multimedia Systems
  • Image Retrieval, Scene Reconstruction
  • Speech Recognition and Speech Web
  • Natural Language Parsing

Networking and Security

  • Optical Networks, Wireless Networking
  • Network Security and Privacy/Intrusion
  • Grids and Clouds
  • Detection Systems/Security of Social Networks

Software Engineering

  • Semantic Web and Web Engineering
  • Software Specification, Verification, and Testing